INDIANAPOLIS — The IndyGo Foundation was recently awarded $500,000 in grant funding from the City of Indianapolis’ Department of Public Works (DPW) Indy Neighborhood Infrastructure Partnership (INIP) to provide essential infrastructure improvements to bus stops on Indianapolis’ Near Eastside.  

The funds from DPW, combined with other funds secured by the Foundation, will allow for the construction of 51 stops in the next year. The complete project of at least 76 stops is in design with plans to be completed in 2024. This work will improve stops that serve some of Indianapolis’ most vulnerable populations, making them safer and fully compliant with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).  

Currently, many Near Eastside residents have trouble accessing transportation due to lack of quality connectivity infrastructure. Bus stop upgrades include adding sidewalk connections, boarding areas and curb ramps that will connect the stops to local streets or driveways.  

The stops that will be improved were selected based off a comprehensive plan from IndyGo for bus stop accessibility improvements and data that showed high concentrations of minority populations and households below the poverty line. (See map below.) 

“Bringing bus stops into ADA compliance is an ongoing effort for the IndyGo Foundation and IndyGo,” said IndyGo Foundation Executive Director Emily Meaux. “These improvements will bring life-changing access to public mobility options and create a better quality of life for these vibrant and diverse communities.” 

The INIP projects chosen for 2023 total nearly $4 million in investment in Indianapolis neighborhoods, with more than $1.8 million coming from Indy DPW funds. Since the inception of the program in 2018, the INIP program has awarded more than $12 million in matching grants to help fund more than 60 projects across Marion County. 


Pictured above from left to right: IndyGo Foundation Director of Development Melanie Frazier, Indianapolis Mayor Joe Hogsett, IndyGo President and CEO Inez Evans, Councillor Jared Evans (District 22), IndyGo Foundation Executive Director Emily Meaux, IndyGo Senior Director of Service Planning Annette Darrow and IndyGo Chief Government Affairs Officer Cameron Radford

Pictured above from left to right: Evans, Mayor Hogsett and Wayne Township Superintendent Dr. Jeff Butts

Connect With IndyGo

Upcoming Events

Our Current Projects