INDIANAPOLIS — IndyGo was recently selected as a 2023 Clean Air Award recipient by the National Air Filtration Association (NAFA), making it the first public transportation agency to receive the honor. Lumin-Air nominated IndyGo for the award after the companies formed a significant partnership to increase clean, breathable air on IndyGo buses in 2022. Since then, IndyGo and Lumin-Air have equipped the transit agency’s full fleet with MERV-13 equivalent filtration and UV-C lighting to help continuously clean the air inside the buses.

“IndyGo is humbled by the nomination recognizing leadership and excellence in air filtration,” IndyGo President and CEO Inez Evans said. “Our agency is committed to investing in public transportation safety for our employees, passengers and the community we serve. Clean air is not a luxury, but a necessity for the safety and confidence of public transportation. The impact of this chemical-free solution has increased our employees’ and passengers’ confidence in the air quality on our buses.”

The NAFA Clean Air Award is a prestigious honor that is traditionally presented to building and facilities managers who go above and beyond utilizing their high-efficiency filtration products to significantly improve indoor air quality. Sustainability, safety, economic benefits and innovation are all key categories that are considered when selecting the recipients.

Currently, all of IndyGo’s fixed route buses and paratransit buses are now equipped with MERV-13 equivalent filtration and UV-C. IndyGo was the first transit agency in the nation to install this system on its full fleet.


Pictured above, beginning from left to right: Lumin-Air Chief Operating Officer Andrew Desmarais, Lumin-Air Chief Marketing Officer Jack Fillenwarth, Lumin-Air President Dan Fillenwarth, IndyGo Director of Risk and Safety Brian Clem, IndyGo Senior Director of Facilities and Preventative Maintenance Paul Williams and IndyGo Chief Operating Officer Aaron Vogel

Pictured above, beginning from left to right: IndyGo Board Chair Gregory Hahn, Williams, Clem, Jack Fillenwarth, Dan Fillenwarth and Desmarais

Connect With IndyGo

Upcoming Events

Our Current Projects